Class Prepping

Brenda, a friend of mine, and I have signed up for a class that is machine embroidery project in Humble at It’s A Stitch. The class is Friday and Saturday and should look like a Christmas red work quilt called “Twas the Night Before Christmas”. I was really looking forward to this class until I got the “prep” list – oh my word, there is a ton of work. It has taken me all day to get it ready and I’m still not finished.

First I had to pull my fabric (I get to pull from my RED stash) I need 5 different ones. Even though this is a Christmas project, I think any of my reds will work and I have a great piece of red for the border, which is a Christmas fabric. I think it will work out very nicely!

red border fabric with cardinals and poinsettia

red border fabric with cardinals

This requires 6 yards of white on white snowflake fabric, all washed, dried, starched, ironed and I had to apply Shape Flex woven cotton interfacing by Pellon. I have never used it before. I guess it helps to stabilize my fabric when I hoop my piece; it is a lot larger than the rolls I normally used, and more durable. After I starched and ironed my fabric I had to carefully apply it to the back of the fabric. Can you say “very time consuming”?

I had to cut one 30-inch square for the center and 2 27-inch squares and then cut those on the diagonal, once for the corner sections. They had to be prepped with the backing too! They need to be marked with a water soluble pen for cross hairs and making sure what we sew on there is straight.

the center block and the sashing

the center block and the sashing

the corner sections

the corner sections

my reds

my reds

One good side note, since I’ve had so much prep work that means I should have an almost completed project upon finishing my class. At least that is what I’m hoping for! ☺ I also can make ahead of time the inner border and make up 33 flying geese units, which I hope to do Wednesday!

Life is good! I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads, love and hugs.
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Friends, Quilts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

