Friend Block for Diane

Hi there, I want to wish a happy birthday to my first niece, Rebecca. Happy birthday, Rebecca!

Not much sewing done today since I worked, but I did manage to finally make my block for Friendship Bee for Diane G.

I have to say that this block required using a template and I was reluctant to do the block. Sometimes I get kind of afraid to step out there and learn a different technique but I finally nudged myself enough to do this block and I admit that I should not have been afraid. The clock was clicking and it was already past due!

the instructions

the instructions

This block is called “double windmill” and Diane got permission from Marsha McCloskey to copy and share her block instructions from Block Party.

the fabric with the template

the fabric with the template

my pieces

my pieces

ready to sew

ready to sew

make 4

make 4

make 2 rows

make 2 rows

sew together

sew together

It turned out pretty cute!

her block - all done

her block – all done

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads, love and hugs.
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Family, Friends, Quilts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Friend Block for Diane

  1. Ron Bible says:

    Hey I like that

  2. I like the block a lot. If I were doing a lot of them rather than one, and if it didn’t need to be an unusual size, I think there’s an easier way than using the templates. I think I would strip piece the fabrics (which normally I don’t like to do), subcut them into squares, and then cut the squares on the diagonal to create the triangles. I would have reverse-y units. For example your pretty cherry red has grey on the inside of the block. You’d end up with half of them that way and half with the red on the inside, which could be used for another block.

    The proportions might not be exactly the same, but … maybe worth trying!!

    Anyway, it’s really pretty and I expect your friend will like it a lot. Thanks for sharing it.

    • ronda926 says:

      great minds think alike, that is about what i did. the block said to cut rectangles and then i just marked where the cut needed to start and went to the point for the angle i needed. i just stacked the light and dark (right sides together) to make sure they were going in the right direction. it is fun to only have to do one block. 🙂

Leave a Reply

