Machine to Needle Turn

On the last block (block 12) I did it in the most unconventional way. On all the blocks that my cousin did, she used freezer paper. There are several different ways to do applique, the process that was used on the other 9 was to press the freezer paper to the wrong side of the fabric and sew it into the block and then cut out the paper from the underside. I did iron the paper onto the wrong side of the fabric and basically basted all the pieces and then machine stitched the components on the top. I decided to do a switch up on this block because the other way took too long and really didn’t seem all that efficient.

Block 11

Block 11

I’ve worked on block 11 of Flourishes all day and it doesn’t really seem like I got that much accomplished, but there is a lot of “pre” work to do before stitching. I got the pattern traced onto the blocks and thankfully Margie already cut and numbered all the freezer papers ready to go, so all I had to do was to iron the papers on the right side of the fabric and then cut them out, I have enough space around the pieces to turn down the edges.

all the pieces in freezer paper

all the pieces in freezer paper

the pattern all traced out

the pattern all traced out

Here’s a tip that I was given by Ms. Marian – when doing needle turn applique, use a toothpick. You put the toothpick in your mouth and the end gets moist, the moisture helps hug the fabric and makes it turn under very nicely! The ones from Cracker Barrel are the best!

toothpicks a great tool

toothpicks a great tool

Here’s my progress on the block, one good thing is these pieces are already sewn down.

what I've done so far

what I’ve done so far

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads, love and hugs.
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Friends, Quilts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Machine to Needle Turn

  1. Ron Bible says:

    Your doing good, but looks like a lot of work.

Leave a Reply

