Thursday eve

I was sitting outside talking to David when I saw my neighbor, Andy and 2 others ride by on their bikes. Oh boy, I decided to go down and talk to them and invite myself to ride along with them. I need some encouragement and someone to ride with! Now I have some “purpose”, yippee! So the plan is to ride with them on Tuesday and Thursday and meet with them at 6:15, which also means I have to get up and ride on Saturday so I will be able to keep up with them on Tuesday/Thursday! I like to be nudged. Ha!

After my visit, I decided to work on some of my circles. Have you ever used Karen Kay Buckley Perfect Circles? They sure help out when making circles, they make it easier and you don’t have to worry with burning your fingers.

Karen Kay Buckley Perfect Circles

Karen Kay Buckley Perfect Circles

Take your thread and insert your circle in the middle of your pre-cut circle and weave your thread in and out in order to gather, then pull tight, like you would a yo-yo, but you have the Mylar circle inside.

start with these, you want your fabric larger than your circle insert

start with these, you want your fabric larger than your circle insert


thread color does not matter, it won't be seen

thread color does not matter, it won’t be seen

weave your thread in and out, until you get all around

weave your thread in and out, until you get all around

Use Best Press or sizing to moisten your circle and press with a very hot iron, this allows it to hold its shape. Once it dries you can pull out the insert. You do need to leave your gathering threads inside; it helps when you stitch it down. Only 28 more to go! I guess I had better get busy!

finished size of a nickel

finished size of a nickel

my finished circles!

my finished circles!

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads, love and hugs.
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Family, Quilts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

