Cookies

I love cookies, how about you? What is your favorite cookie to eat or make? My favorite to make is Nestlé’s Tollhouse chocolate chip, but I love to eat the white chocolate macadamia nut cookie. However I’ve never found a good recipe to make my own. I have found the best places to “buy” them, we like Subway’s the best. Regarding Chocolate chip I normally won’t even eat store bought ones, but then I tasted Chick-Fil-a’s chocolate chunk cookies. Oh my word, they are delicious!!!

Today, I made CC cookies to send to Brok, they are on their way, hopefully by the time they get to the Arab Emirates they will still be fresh.

chocolate chip cookies

chocolate chip cookies

I got a call from Dad this afternoon asking me to pick up Jaiden (7) and Dylan (6) and take them to church/Bible class. Dad and Mom bought them Bibles so they could participate in class and learn different memory verses each week. I agreed since they are out of town and we went out to eat before church. I drove into the parking lot and Jaiden let me know right off the bat that I wasn’t parking in the right place. I told him that I was parking where I parked when I attended the church there. They seem to enjoy their class and after church we go to the car and Jaiden noticed these people going into the parsonage there on the church property and he says, “Wow, they are lucky!” I kind of chuckled and I said “not really” and then he goes on to say how much fun it would be to ride his bike in that big parking lot! Isn’t it funny the difference in perception – really at all ages! I thought they were pretty cute. It was good to see some old friends.

I took them home and visited with Josh and Angela some before heading home. I am picking up the boys after work tomorrow and we get to have a couple of days with them before they go visit Angela’s mom in Louisiana.

I was able to finish getting my umbrellas all assembled and ready to stitch down. I thought I would share a couple of helpful hints.

When working with your pieces, it is important to make sure you bottom (pieces that have under lying sections) are oversized. This helps when you are machine stitching and catches more than it would if you are doing smaller pieces.

the bottom pieces are oversized to help in stitching

the bottom pieces are oversized to help in stitching

When working with your applique you want to make sure you are getting the right placement. I use my rulers as a border marker and then Cynthia England taught me to take a piece of Saran wrap, place it on top of your ruler and trace your object. This way you can get it centered on your block.

ruler placement

ruler placement

using Saran wrap for placement

using Saran wrap for placement

ironed down and in place

ironed down and in place

all ready for machine applique

all ready for machine applique

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads, love and hugs.
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Family, Friends, Outdoors, Quilts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

