Sunday for Sewing

What have you been up to today? It is pretty hot here; for me it is better to stitch inside where it is cool than be outside. I decided to change up my project today. I’ve been wanting to do this project for the longest and I had done some prep work back in May just in case I got a lot done and needed something else to do. That was wishful thinking on my part, but at least I had ironed on my soft fuse (fusible stabilizer) on my “umbrella parts”. The pattern that I started is by Edyta Sitar and is called “Dancing Umbrella”. She has several patterns out there that I want to do!

my pattern, Dancing Umbrella

my pattern, Dancing Umbrella

The first step was to trace my 4 pieces onto the fusible, then iron it on the 30 blocks. Next I cut out all the pieces, except for 7 blocks…I ran out of fusible. I will be going on an acquisition party tomorrow. The pattern calls for you to mix all the pieces up.

pieces that I traced

pieces that I traced

my 7 blocks yet to do

my 7 blocks yet to do

all cut and ready

all cut and ready

Have you every used the Applique Pressing sheet? It is a Mylar sheet that you place on top of your pattern so you can get all of your pieces in the right place. Once you get the pieces all done you pull off the paper backing, it will semi-stick to the Mylar sheet as you get the other pieces in place. Then you iron all of your pieces on top of the Mylar sheet. After you get all of the pieces ironed, carefully pull it off the Mylar sheet and place it on the block to sew it down.

the Appliqué pressing sheet

the Appliqué pressing sheet

build from the bottom up, place the stems down first.  see the pattern under the sheet

build from the bottom up, place the stems down first. see the pattern under the sheet

an example of how it will look

an example of how it will look

We had our group Farmer’s Wife meeting this afternoon at Pinwheels and Posies. It was a good meeting; we discussed blocks Box (9), Bowtie (10), Broken Dishes (11) and Broken Sugar Bowl (12). I also got instructions on how to make blocks 14 and 15. Yippee, maybe I will get those done this week.

my farmer's wife blocks

my farmer’s wife blocks

I’m going to try and get some good photos of the super moon tonight.

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads, love and hugs.
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Friends, Quilts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

