Super Saturday

We had a slow start this morning; David actually slept in and didn’t run, but has rescheduled it for in the morning. We were getting ready to go to breakfast and we had a little knock on the door, I said, “who is it”? A little voice said it was “me and Momma”, it was Lily and Pattie. I opened the door and we had a little visit in our room. They were going to go swimming, after they left we loaded up, we decided on a quick drive through to McDonald’s and we were off to McKinney – a quilt shop adventure. On our way up, we noticed 2 huge fields of sunflowers, and made a mental note of what exit to take so I could stop and take pictures.

We found, The Quilt Asylum and stopped and shopped, a very cute store. They had a lot of bright fabrics, some 30’s, a great collection of fabrics, however, no civil war reproduction fabrics. While talking to them, they told us of another shop in on the square in the historic part of McKinney. So David was very accommodating and took me there as well. The drive to downtown was really impressive – lots of cottage style houses, some Victorian styled homes and lots of big porches! I felt like I was watching a tennis match looking at both sides of the street, then we go past this beautiful house, beautiful gardens and an unbelievable carriage house. I was all but drooling!

Quilt Asylum

Quilt Asylum

We found the cute little quilt shop called Happiness is Quilting and I’m off. I loved their store: high tin ceilings, old walls and even the scratchy old floors, it was warm and comforting to be there. They had a great selection of civil war reproduction prints and 30’s. I could have pitched a tent in there, but we needed to go meet the family for lunch. As we left, I decided to walk back to that beautiful house and take some pictures…I just knew you would want to see them! ☺

downtown Happiness is Quilting

downtown Happiness is Quilting

inside their store

inside their store

I loved this quilt

I loved this quilt

David having a grand time

David having a grand time

I loved the floors

I loved the floors, I bet they could tell a story or two!

this was outside, just walking to the house

this was outside, just walking to the house

some of their garden

some of their garden

more garden and see the carriage house in the back

more garden and see the carriage house in the back

a better view of the carriage house

a better view of the carriage house

one of my favorites - hydrangeas

one of my favorites – hydrangeas

the house front, I could be held captive and made to live there and so close to the quilt store

the house front, I could be held captive and made to live there and so close to the quilt store

more gardens

more gardens

Then icing on the cake, we stopped off so that I could take pictures of the sunflowers. I climbed up the little mound and it was like all these smiling faces looking at me saying “Hello, welcome to my house!” I don’t know if you have ever seen a field of sunflowers, but they actually grow facing the sun. It was really breathtaking for me, I just love sunflowers – they are just so cheerful!

look at these lovely ladies!

look at these lovely ladies!

makes my heart sing

makes my heart sing

We got back to Penny’s house and did some more visiting and left there around 2, met David’s brother, Ricky to pick up a chest freezer and chair to deliver in Spring and we met Katie and Joseph in Conroe to pick up Wyatt so they can attend a wedding – he is running a temperature and didn’t want to take him, so we get to watch Wyatt. He is sleeping now; I sure hope he gets to feeling better soon.

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads, love and hugs.
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Antiques, Family, Friends, Outdoors, Quilts, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Super Saturday

  1. Oh my, I want to visit there. The sunflowers are beautiful!!

Leave a Reply

