Gotcha Day and Philip’s Party

Friday, June 14th was set for my sister, Pattie and her husband Matt to adopt Aaron (11) and Jon (10). They have been foster parents for the boys since January 11, 2012. A lot happens in the “fostering world” for all this to take place. I cannot imagine having to relinquish my rights as a parent and not being able to love them enough, or being able to take care of them. It is hard enough to watch them grow up, take them off to college, get married and have children. I don’t think I will ever forget what Kyle told me once, “Mom, I never had to worry that you didn’t love me”. Aaron and Jon have a new beginning. Their local news station for CBS covering the Smith County news was there, you could watch some of the highlights from this news story. Here is the link: http://www.cbs19.tv/story/22598161/smith-county-families

Pattie, Matt, Jon, Andrew and Landen

Pattie, Matt, Jon, Andrew and Landen

We got to Dallas about 4:30, checked into our hotel and I sewed binding up the entire way. We had some of the worse traffic ever driving to Dallas, some congestion, road madness and construction. We changed clothes and took off to Penny’s. We were welcomed to Murphy Manor by Andrew, Penny’s youngest at 6’2”. Steve’s Dad and stepmom drove in from Albuquerque, New Mexico. With our crew there, I think we had 12 family members there. We had a great time visiting and Penny did a great job on the video of watching Philip grow “through the years”.

IMG_4009

he thought the back was it

he thought the back was it

reading the label

reading the label

IMG_4014

some of the decorations for the party

some of the decorations for the party

one of the hits of the party were these plates!  why didn't i think of that?

one of the hits of the party were these plates! why didn’t i think of that?

his cake

his cake

more decorations

more decorations

his label

his label

Philip and I with his quilt

Philip and I with his quilt

I wanted to give Philip his quilt before the party really started. We gave it to him and he really, really liked it. I wasn’t sure at first, you know how boys are, but later he told me that he really did like it, a lot. So I didn’t feel bad leaving behind one of my “threaded children”.

I am truly blessed; and I hope you are blessed by your daily threads, love and hugs.
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Family, Friends, Quilts, Travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

