My Sewing Baskets

I had planned on posting yesterday, we went out with some friends last night and we didn’t get home until late, so I decided to wait until this morning. Things are coming together very nicely. I made a trip to The Painted Pony and auditioned fabric for the setting triangles and border. I decided to go with 30’s fabric since the majority of the baskets were done in 30’s, there are ones with floral fabric, and I think it will blend in nicely – at least I hope so. I really got a good bit done yesterday. I love watching a quilt come together, I think that is why I push so much.

my progress

my progress

this is what i decided for the setting triangles and the border

this is what i decided for the setting triangles and the border

My daughter-in-law, Angela has a brother, Shawn Stephani that is playing in the PGA tour and he was in second place starting out on Saturday morning, it was very exciting to watch someone on TV that I actually know! I tell you, watching someone you know makes it so much more nerve wracking than just watching it. He had one really bad hole, but amazingly he let it go and was able to continue on and he is actually the leader going into todays start. His mom and I have been going back and forth on Facebook, which was fun. When my kids were little and they had baseball or softball playoff games, the emotion and all that goes into watching your child and wanting them to excel is very draining and intense!!! But when they all come together for a WIN it is enormous! We will be watching again today! I don’t to jinx anything so I will just leave it at that. ☺

David got so involved in watching the game; he put off working on my design wall. He gets so excited and cheers/yells at the TV, one would think he is actually there! He even said to me that he looked up the price of an airline ticket to Memphis so he could go watch. I thought that was sweet and kind of funny! I guess I’m not the only dreamer in the family.

Now he has gone to Home Depot to see what he can use for my design wall – oh my goodness – I can’t wait. I will post progress!

Back to my blocks, I did not make these blocks, they are actually signed, and one is even dated 1997. I think it is fun to imagine the ladies that made the blocks and what they had, I have noticed that some of the blocks were hand stitched instead of machine stitched. One block still needs to be finished, I need to stitch down the handle, she even left me the thread strings to be able to finish it, but it has no heart and no signature. I guess I will have to finish it – it is the least I can do and very do-able. Ha!

see the hand stitching

see the hand stitching

more hand stitching

more hand stitching

see the date and signature, I actually know who she is

see the date and signature, I actually know who she is

the one that's unfinished see the threads she left

the one that’s unfinished see the threads she left

the back of the block that needs finishing

the back of the block that needs finishing

I am truly blessed; and I hope you are blessed by your daily threads, love and hugs!
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Family, Friends, Quilts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

