Chain Piecing

I have had a pretty productive day, how about you? I worked on my sashing and 9-patches for my baskets. I really like chain piecing but I have to say it is kind of boring to me, but it is really good for a group sewing project, since it is kind of mindless. It is hard for me to push through sometimes, my mind seems to wonder and I start doing other things, so I have to tell myself that I’m going to get to a certain spot before I do something else. Today, I was trying to think or plan how I could derive a better temporary/permanent design wall and I am really working on my project lists – all this while doing my chain piecing.

my chain piecing - sashing

my chain piecing – sashing

pieces

pieces

sashing and 9-patches

sashing and 9-patches

All in all, I think I did pretty good, in order to be more productive I planned how many sashing strips and 9-patches I needed for my baskets, then I had to figure out how many pieces I needed for each segment. I needed 64 sashing sections and 40 9-patches. I even figured out how much fabric I needed for my setting triangles. If you ever have the opportunity to take Winnie Fleming’s “Border’s class” I highly recommend it. I learned so much in that class, she gives you formulas for figuring setting triangles and so much more.

it is coming together

it is coming together

I'm almost halfway

I’m almost halfway

Lately, different ones have commented on my accomplishments. I wanted to explain that I had a wonderful teacher, my sister-in-law, Cindy. She passed away from an aggressive form of brain cancer at the age of 51, on June 8, 2010. She taught me to be diligent because one never knows what tomorrow will bring. Before I started quilting I was a scrap booker and I still have so many unfinished projects, I knew that I didn’t want another hobby where I never finished very many projects. So I made “me” a promise, plus when I finish I get the best feeling. Maybe you can work on your lists. One of my friends is doing a challenge to help ones to finish things, hope this might help you.

I am truly blessed; I hope you are blessed by your daily threads, love and hugs.
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Family, Friends, Quilts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chain Piecing

  1. Ron Bible says:

    Very nice. Keep t up.

Leave a Reply

