Around the Block

While I was on my elliptical yesterday morning, I was planning how I wanted to work up my basket blocks that I bought in the Lakeview Guild auction last year. I decided to put them on point and to do a yellow and cream sashing and to use set-in triangles to make it larger. I think I have 26 blocks to work with, so I laid them out on my floor, still unsure how I am going to put them together.

basket blocks

basket blocks

more baskets, possibilities

more baskets, possibilities

Yesterday I was out on my acquisition tour for border fabrics for Arkansas Crossroads and I have the two perfect ones, but my dilemma is – not enough! So I drove all the way across town to a place that carried 30’s fabric and they probably had 30 bolts or so, I was so disappointed, but I was hoping for more of what I had – NO such luck! Left there grabbed a sandwich for lunch and went to get some Isacord embroidery thread – that was a success and I even learned something new about my machine (or maybe re-learned it). After that I decided to drive to my favorite store, The Painted Pony. They didn’t have what I was searching for, but I did get another option! I still have not given up on finding some of what I already have – at least not yet.

this is what I want to use

this is what I want to use

my second choice!

my second choice!

If any of you have any of the RJR red fabric, I would love to buy some from you!!! It is from the collection “Everything but the Kitchen Sink”, stamped 2008. I have looked online, even on EBay!

if you have this, I will love you forever!  ;-)

if you have this, I will love you forever! 😉

Tonight our block swap bee met and guess what we got?? Our Asian Birds in the Air blocks. Now I have something to dream about on the elliptical in the morning! Ha! I just had to play with them. I have two more sets (10 blocks) to add to this. Oh how fun! Oh, I almost forgot, I got another quilt back from Denise tonight. She quilted my Lincoln’s Watch, which is a Red Crinoline quilt pattern, she always does such a great job! Thank you, Denise!

look at the Birds!

look at the Birds!

more Birds!  it is going to be so pretty!

more Birds! it is going to be so pretty!

Lincoln's watch border

Lincoln’s watch border

Lincoln's watch, I love how it plays with your eyes

Lincoln’s watch, I love how it plays with your eyes

While I was at the meeting David photo’d a couple of former “porch borders”.

former borders, they must like it here!

former borders, they must like it here!

I have to say my room is a mess! Too many things going on in my mind!
I hope you are blessed by your daily threads, love and hugs!
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Family, Friends, Outdoors, Quilts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Around the Block

  1. Ooo, can’t wait to get my Asian Birds.

Leave a Reply

