Quilt Show is Coming!

We have just a few more days to prepare and then our quilt show for Baytown will be here. Lisa Green has worked extremely hard in preparing for our quilt show. I marvel at all of her QS knowledge, she has thought of everything.

We have tables and chairs being delivered to the Lee College arena and that is just one portion of the event. She has given us all checklists to make sure we don’t forget anything.

Wednesday night we turn in our quilts. Thursday is set up and hanging day. Quilts will be judged by Winnie Fleming, Sue Garman and Jo Lynn O’Neil. Vendors will also move in, and we will have 87 quilts for viewing and some quilts will just be for decorations. I plan on pulling some of my “quilty” things to help with decorating.

This morning Ricky and Milly left and I picked up a little and about 10 I left to go to Wendy’s house to help her with the silent auction. We will have 39 things for silent auction – the end of silent auction is 3:30 p.m. on Saturday, May 4th. Highest bidder gets the prize and we have a lot of really good things. Sample of things are small wall hangings – Linda made the cutest Cowboy/Cowgirl wall hanging; there’s also a very nice “Texas” wall hanging; at least 10 quilts of various sizes; several quilt kits; retreat opportunity courtesy of Pam Jones at the Gathering Place; an Altos Quiltcut fabric cutting system; a sewing machine lamp and much more!

I finished the binding on my quilt last night, now I have to attach the sleeve to Zesty and I will be finished. Nothing like waiting to the last minute!

I put on the inner border for Pinwheel Parade today, but that is really just a little thing. Next I need to make 32 flying geese for the outer border and it will be finished. My friendship bee meets Thursday night, so I worked on that block today. I really like it, but she forgot to add the 4-1/2 block for the center, so I was unable to finish it. I called Ms. Carolyn and she said she would finish it – so it is done for me.

block for Friendship bee

block for Friendship bee

2-1/2 inch border added

2-1/2 inch border added

I hope your daily threads are good to you, love and hugs!
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Family, Friends, Quilts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

