Good Times

I am truly blessed, there’s really no way to get around it. And the gorgeous day that we have had is icing on the cake! I had to work this morning, left work around 1:30, stopped by Home Depot to get a few new plants for the back beds, lunch, then bank, then off to Denise, my quilter’s house, then home. What is a day without errands???

David was putting out new mulch in the flowerbeds, so I planted 5 plants and that was my contribution to gardening. Oh my goodness, I could not help but see all the sprouts that will bloom on my angel trumpet – she is loaded. I am excited about seeing her in her glory. I did take a few pictures of some of our plants.

my angel trumpet with lots of sprouts

my angel trumpet with lots of sprouts

my angel trumpet with lots of sprouts

my angel trumpet with lots of sprouts

more sprouts, look at the top too!

more sprouts, look at the top too!

I got some Sun Patients and planted Geraniums, I love those!

I got some Sun Patients and planted Geraniums, I love those!

I planted these last week and the Lilies look really good, along with Sun Patients

I planted these last week and the Lilies look really good, along with Sun Patients

this is just one rose bud, but I love the color

this is just one rose bud, but I love the color

I have to report that the doves have flown the coop – so sad. They were there Wednesday night, but have not been back. I keep checking but no such luck.

We had a great bee meeting last night. We only had about 8 people, but we had good fellowship and enjoyed ourselves. We are thinking about doing a swap like another group I’m in (Friendship Bee). Here’s what we do – let’s say we have 14 people in the group that want to participate in the exchange. We will have a different “leader” each month; “Lady A” will pick a block of their choice and fabric design. They will pass out the information to all the ones doing the exchange and each of 13 have an entire month to sew 1 block and return it the next month. At the next meeting, we give the blocks to “Lady A” and “Lady B” will pass out her information and so forth. It really works very well, but if one commits to being in the group, they need to do their part.

I thought I would share my Banana Split Cake recipe – it is very yummy, however not so kind to the diet! Maybe you can trade it off with something else.

    Banana Split Cake

    Graham Cracker crust:

    Take approximately 2/3’s box of graham cracker crumbs, ½ cup of sugar and 1-½ sticks of melted butter or margarine. Mix well and place in 9x13 pan, pack it down and bake for about 8-10 minutes at 350. Set aside and let cool.

    Filing:
    2 eggs
    1 box of powdered sugar
    2 sticks of soft butter
    1 teaspoon of vanilla

    Layers:
    5 bananas
    1 large can of pineapple, well drained
    1 large cool whip
    Maraschino cherries (drained) and pecans

    Beat eggs, sugar, vanilla and butter for about 15 minutes. Place on top of the cooled crust. Slice bananas lengthwise and lay on the filling. Then place pineapple over bananas, spread cool whip and then garnish with pecans and place cherries, as you prefer. Place in refrigerator for about an hour or so. Slice and serve!

I hope your daily threads are good to you, love and hugs.
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Family, Friends, Outdoors, Quilts, Recipes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

