Mind, Body and Soul

What can I say; the morning news has been talking to me lately! I hope I’m not boring you too much, this was the morning topic and when I heard it – my mind (gear sound) just starts turning.

They were discussing how important that all 3 of these things should be touched on for us to be “completely” satisfied. I tend to believe that. What do you think? For whatever reason, I do think tuning into my creative side does satisfy my mind, body and soul. I hope you have something that works for you!

My dog got to sun bathe again today – she is a funny dog! For some reason she thinks she has to lay on my “design floor’. ☺ As you can see I’m working on Elizabeth and she was not very nice today. I spent entirely too much time “unsewing”. I know that it will be there tomorrow – no sewing “fairy” lives here.

Goddess Lizzy

Goddess Lizzy

I went to a friend’s house to help her begin to organize her sewing room, mainly her fabric. We discussed fabric, thread and project storage. I’m a very visual person, I like to be able to see the fabric I have and it needs to be color coordinated – otherwise I can’t see what I have, nor will I be able to use it. Here is my suggestion; I have my fabrics divided into types (i.e. 30’s; Kaffe; civil war; Christmas) and then in piles of color. I’m even funny about how they are folded – some people may even have another name for it – I won’t ague too much about that. Ha!

I decided to take my fabric to 7-inch increments. If I have two yards, or even one yard, I fold it to 14-inches, then I fold in half to 7 inches. This works for fat quarters too, if I have smaller strips then I keep them on top, but the fold is always facing me. This way, I can see what I have and I can flip or thumb through to the next one easily – up the stack. I took some pictures to help explain what I was trying to say.

all infolded

all unfolded

folded to 14 inches

folded to 14 inches

folded to 7 inches

folded to 7 inches

folded to 7 inches with fold facing out

folded to 7 inches with fold facing out

folded fabric on shelf, it does not have to be perfect just neat

folded fabric on shelf, it does not have to be perfect just neat

I hope your daily threads are good to you, love and hugs.
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Family, Friends, Quilts. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mind, Body and Soul

  1. Ron Bible says:

    Sounds good to me

  2. Tasha says:

    You are so smart – You can come set up my sewing room anytime – Love ya!

Leave a Reply

