Key Phrases

Don’t you just love to hear key phrases that inspire you to think outside the box? Well I heard one this morning. They were discussing this topic on the news, it was in regards to a young man with downs syndrome climbing a mountain. He maintains, “Disabilities turn into possibilities”. What an amazing mantra! I marvel and admire ones that truly have physical difficulties and are considered disable, yet they don’t see themselves as disable. They are not victims; they overcome as many obstacles as they can – what an inspiration.

This year as I was finishing the Houston marathon, I ran past a man that was blind. He ran the entire race not being able to see anything. Of course he had people run with him, helping him, but he managed to finish a difficult venture. I cannot begin to imagine his strong mental fortitude. I had many conversations with myself wanting to quit due to the cold weather and all the wind and rain. Luckily I did not see any of my running friends to ask them “let’s go and eat breakfast”! After the rain stopped, I managed to stop “the voices” and finish my 15th Houston marathon. One of my former co-workers always told me that there is always someone worse off than you. I try to remember that. Thank you, Bob Miller.

I good friend of mine asked me about my thread storage today, I thought I would share my thread cabinet. I got it a few years ago in Canton, Texas at the First Monday Trade Days. It was in terrible shape, I managed to strip it and my sweet hubby, David re-did the thread sections for me. I lined the bottom of the drawers with fabric since you could see through the glass fronts. It has lots of storage, which is why I have other things than thread in it.

my thread cabinet

my thread cabinet

top drawer, I needed one for the smaller rulers

top drawer, I needed one for the smaller rulers

second drawer

second drawer

my third drawer, more threads

my third drawer, more threads

Oh, I got the new Hallmark dream book in the mail today; this is their 40th year in ornaments. They have a big events planned, I just may have to attend some of the events! I sure enjoyed looking at all of their new ornaments.

2013 Dreambook from Hallmark

2013 Dreambook from Hallmark

I belong to a quilt guild in Baytown and we had a quilt show meeting tonight. Our quilt show is May 3-4; if you are in the area we hope that you will come. I think we are going to have an outstanding show this year. It will be at Lee College at the sports arena! Mark your calendars!

I hope your daily threads are good to you, love and hugs.
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Family, Friends, Quilts. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Key Phrases

  1. Ivy Croft says:

    Bring you Dream Book Thursday so Julie and I can dream with you

  2. Ron Bible says:

    I hope Joyces dream book comes today.

Leave a Reply

