A Dove’s Nest

I hope you all enjoying your day! Wednesday I went on the front porch to water some of our plants and I was startled by a chirp, flutter and flight of a dove. She was sitting in one of my hanging baskets that I was going to water. I peeked inside and I saw two very sweet bird eggs. Although, my plant isn’t doing too well, I was excited. So I decided I had to share and try to take photos of it and not disturb her too much, nor the eggs.

dove eggs

dove eggs

the dove is watching me!

the dove is watching me!

Yesterday was another crazy day. I guess you have figured out that I have a bunch of those. Work, then bee meeting and prepping for David’s team named “The Peeps”. David is head Peep for 14 runners this weekend. They take 2 12-passenger vans, 2 drivers and each van has 6 runners. They will be driving to Gonzales, Texas today and in the morning begin a 203-mile relay. Yes, a crazy idea!! And they have a lot of crazy people to participate in this adventure! I’ve done it 3 times and it is fun, but lots of work trying to run, rest, eat, sleep and wait for your next turn. They have exchange points set up for handoffs. No bed and no shower – which is why I dropped out. They all take turns and finish in the San Jacinto Battleground Park in Deer Park. They will arrive in Deer Park sometime mid Sunday morning and finishing sometime between one and two in the afternoon. They actually run right past the end of our street, which is kind of exciting. When van #1 finishes their last leg they drive here and shower/eat/sleep and wait for their fellow peeps in van #2 to approach! When they get close we walk to the end of our street and cheer them on! Then we load up and drive to the park and wait for them to arrive at the finish line. As a team they head to the landing around the Monument and have a group photo, and eat pizza! What a way to finish a weekend! Right?!?! This girl will be sewing! Wahoo!

I get to host the welcome home party! I’ve made spinach dip, crackers, chicken salad, chips, my Granny Massey’s “Sour Cream Chocolate Chip Pound Cake” and David fixed pinwheels. I just need to slice and bake them Sunday morning and have ice cold drinks ready.

The cake that I made is a great cake recipe. In November when David and I went to Chattanooga, Tennessee my cousin, Becky told me this was her favorite cake recipe that she makes for all of their family gatherings. I had the recipe from a long time ago and I’ve been making all this time and not even knowing the connection. I love how cooking and recipes bring friends and family together and the great memories that tag along. I’m sharing the recipe just in case you want to try it. Sorry, I’ve not figured out how to attach as a document for you to be able to print.

Sour Cream Chocolate Chip Pound Cake

1 box of Duncan Hines Golden Butter Cake Mix (my cousin uses chocolate)
4 eggs, add one at a time, mix
1 cup of sour cream
1 box of Vanilla instant pudding mix
¾ cup of vegetable oil
1 teaspoon of vanilla

Mix and divide batter. Add to one bowl 6-ounce package of chocolate chips and 5 ounces of Hersey’s chocolate syrup. Mix slightly.

Grease and flour Bundt pan. Starting with vanilla batter, pour into pan, then top with chocolate mixture, marbleize some with knife.

Bake at 350 degrees for 50 minutes.

my pound cake

my pound cake

I had better close and get busy. I hope your daily threads are good to you, love and hugs.
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Family, Friends, Outdoors. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Dove’s Nest

  1. Ron Bible says:

    I like the Dove thing, she was on the nest when I left, but you can water the flower, just poor it on the side. I made try and make that cake with suger free cake mix. Thanks for every thing

  2. Cathy Carnew says:

    I’ve been reading your blog today. You are spicing things up with the recipes and more photos! I love it. The blog is sounding more like you every day. Keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

