Taking a Break

After the fast paced weekend and being busy for the last 2 days, I’ve declared an evening of NO intent! In fact, I’m even thinking of staying in my pj’s all day, but I know that I really won’t do that. For some strange reason, I don’t like doing that.

One of the things that Bonnie Hunter mentioned last night during the lecture was that she loved fabric and one of the reasons she did was that she could remember where and when she bought a particular piece of fabric. For her, fabric holds memories.

When I was a little girl, my mom made almost all of my clothes, along with my 2 sisters. In fact, it was a rare thing for us to have a “store bought” dress. My mom would give all of our scraps to my Granny and then she would use them in her quilts. We would like to see the quilts and then remember the clothes that we wore and how they had fond memories. I have to say, that I agree with her, fabric does hold our memories. One of the strangest quilts we have pieces of, is one made of our “double knits”. Mom made us the best pantsuits ever – remember all the plaids in the 70’s. Great memories!

Too bad we don’t really have the same options these days, as I really dislike sewing clothes. I still have a couple of dresses that my mom made for Katie, when she was little. Instead of fabric holding our memories, we rely on our old family photos, I think most of us still have our childhood photos, I know I do. My sister, Penny is a very talented scrap booker – I like to think of it as a paper quilter. Ha!

A special birthday wish goes out to my oldest grandson, Jaiden who turned 8 on Monday!

Oct2005,Christmas to wedding2006 309
Jaiden turning 1!

I hope your daily threads have been kind to you, love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Outdoors, Quilts, Rodeo, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

