I Missed You Yesterday

I got up at 6 yesterday, left the house at 8 and I didn’t get home until 9:30 or so. What a great day it was!

We had the class on “roll, roll, cotton boll” with Bonnie Hunter yesterday, there were 24 in the class and we were to take a dish for us to have at lunch. She is such a delight and is such a great teacher. She uses mainly scraps and mixes pretty much everything in one quilt, from presidential head fabric to music notes to Halloween fabric. They are small pieces so you don’t really notice the different types of fabric or what is on the fabric, you just notice the color changes.
IMG_3111

IMG_3112

IMG_3123

Another method she teaches is in block building. She takes the pieces, lays them out and rolls them over, stitches them together (leaving the threads attached), then adds the different columns. This really helps if you have a large block you are trying to assemble. I’ve tried to take pictures of this process, in case I didn’t describe it clearly. This is a great technique; try it if you get a chance.
IMG_3113

IMG_3114

IMG_3117
my completed block

IMG_3115
our spread

IMG_3119

IMG_3120

IMG_3121

IMG_3122
she also showed us how to string piece, that was a lot of fun too!

IMG_3118
I wanted to show you Cheryl’s block, she did it in 30’s. I sure liked it!
IMG_3125

IMG_3126
these 2 quilts are the same pattern.
IMG_3127

IMG_3129

IMG_3128

IMG_3130

IMG_3131

IMG_3134

IMG_3133

IMG_3132

Bonnie’s lecture last night was truly enjoyed by our guild. I took a few pictures and I did show her my Civil War style “Easy Street”. This is a mystery quilt project that she introduced in January. A mystery quilt is a project that you are only given just the instructions to do a week at a time. She did give the colors, but I changed them, as I didn’t not have any of the ones that she used, therefore I used what I had. There was a lady there last night that did do her color ways; it almost does not look like the same quilt. I like the way color changes everything!

I’ve got to get moving.
I hope your daily threads are good to you, love and hugs,
Ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Family, Outdoors, Quilts, Rodeo. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

