Camp Blanding, January 25-29, 2013

This was a five day sewing retreat at a military base set up in WWII used as a POW camp in Starke, Florida, just southwest of Jacksonville.  We stayed in the military housing and sewed at the armory, me along with 185 other people.  It was the best ever; I met lots of new people and took 2 classes, one from Pam Buda of Heartspun Quilts and Lynn Hagmeier, fabric designer for Moda, Kansas Troubles. 

Friday was setup and a great sew day.  I don’t think I’ve ever seen the likes of sewing in one place before, I should have taken pictures but I didn’t – maybe next time.  I worked on finishing my mystery quilt project from Quiltville, Bonnie Hunter’s Easy Street.  I did finish it, I’m not sure which day – they kind of ran together. 

Easy Street, civil war style

2013 02 06 Easy Street 014

Easy Street, civil war style

I took Pam’s class on “Practice what I Preach”, I was able to finish it all but the borders before I came home and Lynn’s class was on Sunday and it was a cute round table topper pattern.  It was a quick project and I was able to finish it while I was there as well. 

Practice what I Preach

Practice what I Preach

Spoolin Around

We had several beautiful sunsets on Lake Kingsley and one day we were greeted by 2 egrets that wanted to come in and play. 

one sunset

one sunset

another sunset

our welcome wagon

our welcome wagon

David drove me and he was fairly entertained with running on the base, watching TV and NASCAR. 

 He came home well rested.  I was kind of tired, but it was all very well worth it.

hugs and stitches,

ronda

About ronda926

I enjoy piecing quilts and getting to know people, as well as sharing the information I have on sewing. I love the sense of accomplishment once I'm finished.
This entry was posted in Outdoors, Quilts, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Camp Blanding, January 25-29, 2013

  1. Ronda – it was the best retreat ever! You helped to make it fun! We are all so glad to welcome you into our Camp Blanding group! And – your quilts are beautiful! IYour blog name was a good choice! See you in September! Julie

  2. Cathy Carnew says:

    Anxious to see what you have to share with your followers!

Leave a Reply

